Miracle

Everyday miracles really do happen. I know, because I’ve just participated in one. This miracle began, was formed and unfolded and completed right before my very eyes. To have had a hands-on role in this miracle is something that I will never forget – it has truly been one of the most amazing experiences of my entire life.

In John 14:12, Jesus spoke of the miracles that modern day believers would be empowered to do:

Very truly I tell you, whoever believes in me will do the works I have been doing, and they will do even greater things than these, because I am going to the Father.

By this, I believe Jesus was saying that His followers — if they remained open to being used by Him — would be called far and wide, across the earth, to be used as modern-day miracle agents with the Holy Spirit as the guide. I can tell you this is how I would describe the experience I just had.

When I came to Kenya, it was primarily to focus on women. This is a clear call of God on my life. But I also knew God would have other plans for me as well and a calling to step in the gap as an advocate for the orphaned street children of Kitale was soon set before me.

What started out as participating in a weekly feeding ministry with Pastor Paul and Pastor Titus of Divine Life Kenya then became a determination to rescue just one boy – Junior — who had instantly captured my heart. Within just three weeks of arriving in August, we were able to do just that. That itself felt miraculous. But what I would soon learn is that this act of advocacy for one boy was not the end of the story; not even close.

As I continued to visit the boys each week, my heart continued to expand for them and my motherly concerns for their plight grew. When it rained outside (a regular occurrence here) I’d wonder where they were seeking shelter. When I had a fresh meal placed before me, I’d think back to the first day I met some of the boys and saw the garbage heap they’d pick from to eat. My sense of injustice and restlessness grew as my days in Kenya became fewer. I just knew I had to do something tangible had to be done before leaving for the states. And guess what? We have!

I am SO exited to share that we have opened Upendo Home! Thanks to the fundraising efforts of a few precious ladies who leapt into action without even being asked and the generosity of supporters, in just three weeks we were able to build a simple home — our first Upendo Home! Just yesterday, we rescued seven more boys from the streets of Kitale! This new home now hosts a guardian family and seven precious young boys who have started an all new life. For them, gone are the days of constant hunger, exposure to the elements, rejection from the society and no one to love them.

It is with great love and a whole lot of mama pride that I introduce you to our first seven lovies:

2014-10-24 23.11.312014-10-24 23.11.31

Joshua, Meshach, Joseph, Arafat, Mike, Ibrahim and Davis

In the coming days, I will be sharing more details about the stories and these precious boys. Think miracles don’t happen today? Ask our Upendo boys…my bet is they will assure you they do!

Want to help? We surely need it! Please visit our fundraising page.

9 thoughts on “Miracle”

  1. Karen – your love for mankind never ceases to amaze me. Yoy are the most lovely, generous, spiritually-inspired person I know. I love you, I love what you are doing for these boys, women and families, and I am truly blessed to be your friend.

    Like

  2. Amazing! Miracles DO happen and I have also been witness of this through you. Congratulations on being so strong, dedicated, driven, focused and visionary. Thank you also to the fundraiser ladies and all the supporters. Many hands make light the work. ❤️

    Like

  3. you have done good jop in Kenya and will remained as an example to the hall world how young Laddy can come up with such projects.indeed we need more hands so let’s us continue praying
    . I love you !

    Like

Leave a comment